top of page
Search
  • Zac Walker

Aubel-Stavelot Juniors

Overview:

Aubel-Stavelot Juniors is one of the biggest stage races there are for juniors. It’s high pedigree resulted in an extremely strong start list; National teams such as Germany, Denmark and the Nederlands were present as well as the top race teams like Ag2R u19 and Team Auto Eder. Previous winners of the race include Remco Evenepoel and Cian Uijtdebroeks.


The accommodation that riders were in was provided by the organisers. Our team - Fensham Howes Mas Race Team were placed in a hostel which was far from glitz and glammer. However, despite this, we knew conditions were the same for everyone and therefore we were not at a disadvantage; even if we didn’t have soigneurs and team trucks at our disposal!



Stage 1:



Despite seeing a pattern of this stage finishing in a bunch sprint in previous years I had a inkling that this year it could differ. Due to this I went into it with a mindset of trying to get in a breakaway. After racing aggressively I found myself off the front with another rider; Theodore Storm who I had raced against previously and knew was strong. We gained a healthy margin, but with still 70kms remaining it would be a tough feat. With around 40km to go we had amalgamated a gap of 2mins over the chase peloton and I remember thinking at this point that we would stay away fairly comfortably.

I was wrong. Team Ag2R and a few other squads relayed on the front and brought the gap down dramatically. Coming into the final lap we had a slender margin and a different rider from the peloton had attacked across to us making it 3. On the final descent to the line with just 1km to go we were all bluffing and trying not to launch to early even with the knowledge of the peloton being right behind us. Unfortunately, I played myself. Getting caught with just 25 meters to go and being rolled for 15th place while the other 2 held on by the skin of their teeth. I was disappointed as it was a huge expense of energy for ultimately nothing. As a consolation I took confidence from having good legs and would be leading the KOM competition going into stage 2.


The dreaded 70km 2-up


The podium presentation after stage 1



Stage 2 (TTT):


3x laps of a short technical circuit

This was my first experience of a team time trial but also one to forget. I felt terrible and had personally a very poor performance; barely being able to hold the wheels at certain points. This meant the team suffered as a result. We found a rhythm on the last lap but by this point we had lost too much time already. We managed to salvage 13th place; losing 40seconds in the process which would prove critical later in the race.






Stage 3:



Stage 3 took place later that afternoon. Under team instructions I was told to save energy and preserve myself for the following day, especially after the efforts I had undertaken on stage 1. From this, the day was fairly stress free for me, a break went up the road but never really posed a threat of making it all the way to the line. Some action took place up the last two climbs meaning the group split and reduced to 15 riders. I was alert to this and positioned well throughout while not forcing the pace etc. The race ultimately came back together on the descent leading to a bunch sprint. I had a crack but couldn’t slalom my way through the group to ever see the front rolling in for 24th on the day.




Stage 4 (The Queen Stage):



This stage was highly anticipated by all riders. Featuring 9 climbs and alpine like descents it had definitely been in the back of everyone’s minds. I went into it about 30th-40th on GC - 40seconds down from the TTT so knew I needed magical legs to place high on GC. However, if there was ever a stage to gain time in junior racing, this was the one.

We set off and I mainly focused on maintain position for the first 1/3rd of the race, deciding against going in the “early break”. After this initial phase I started applying some pressure up the climbs to whittle down the group. Often, I would open up a gap with a few others but proceeded to try and push too hard on unknowns descents, going into corners too fast and often bailing out into fields!


After repeating this process a couple of times, the main group was down to just 15 with 3 riders still up the road from earlier. Within this “main group” I would argue there were 3 or 4 riders who were clearly stronger than the rest including myself, but the elastic hadn’t snapped within the group just yet. The Their de Coo then came and was arguably the hardest climb of the race, I drilled it up their and 4 of us got away from the main group; managing to maintain the gap over the top this time. We then hit the final climb where I further went solo from this group and set off in pursuit of the 3 leaders. I reduced the gap but with them starting with such a big advantage it was near impossible. Regardless, I squeezed my hardest all the way to the line, reducing my GC deficit to riders from the likes of Ag2R and the Nederlands. In the end I could come away with 4th on the day, promoting me to 6th overall.

(Screen shot of stage result/ gc result)

(Pic crossing line)

Overall it was a really fun race and an experience like no other; racing in more mountains terrain. I have a slight bittersweet feeling from it, just missing out on a result on stage 1 and perhaps making the mistake of not getting into the early move on the last day as I was arguably the strongest out of the main bunch. Regardless, I gave it my all and that’s how racing plays out sometimes. Lastly, I would like to say thanks to Fensham Howes Mas Race Team for taking me out to the race and allowing me to ride for them and particularly Giles who gave me lots of advice throughout the week.

110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page