top of page
Search
  • Zac Walker

Trip Down To Rome

With a long 7 hour drive ahead of us, we started our venture towards Rome bright and early at 06:00 on Wednesday morning. Those that are close to me will know I am not a morning person so this was quite a shock to the system. However, I was quite fine with this arrangement as it meant I was able to kill some time catching up on the zzz’s - almost like time travelling!


We arrived in the picturesque town of Rome around lunchtime. As we waited for our rooms to be prepared I took the opportunity to get a first glimpse of the city by foot. I didn’t get too far during this but it did give me the opportunity to scout out a local shop and pick up an all essential protein yoghurt for later in the day! We then had lunch and were able to check into our rooms. It was a nice hotel - one of the benefits of UCI races in Italy is that the organisers tend to treat you to a high quality hotel. **tend to/ not always!**


The time hit 15:30 meaning we would head for the pre race ride. The first 30minutes of which not very productive cycling wise, but rather viewing the colosseum. After some obligatory photos and jumping back on the bike we continued through an onslaught of traffic in Rome. A period of this continued until I took matters into my own hands and led us onto some slightly better roads. Still far from ideal but at least we could get the legs spinning on these. Returning to the hotel 1 hour later, I was still suffering with the jelly-like, powerless feeling in my legs that often comes with travelling. Due to the conditions I hadn’t been able to follow my training prescribed and complete some openers yet. Luckily I found a 40 second slightly uphill, mostly uninterrupted patch next to the hotel. Making the most out of the situation I ended the ride with 10x surges up this which seemed to get the legs going.

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED: Monument spotted and ready to race!




The Race (GP Liberazione UCI 1.2-u23)

  • 6km circuit

  • 23laps

  • 135km

Located in the centre of Rome and circulating the Terme Di Caracalla. The course with lots of tight corners and hairpins created quite the spectacle, amassing a surplus of spectators.


Knowing it would be full gas from the start I completed a fairly decent warm up. Typically with longer races in the elite and u23 category being accompanied by a neutral section, there is little need for a warm up in my opinion as it can add unnecessary fatigue. However today was a different story, I wanted to be raring to go and ready for the off. Unfortunately, we had our team presentation very late on so despite rolling to the start line immediately after this we found ourselves placed at the back of a 175 man peloton. Due to this the first few laps were concentrated on improving position in the bunch. As anticipated, this was very hard; with multiple hairpins per lap the elastic effect of the peloton in and out of corners was in full force. After 3 laps I had made it to the front, along the way losing 2 team mates to crashes. After this I focused on what was the game plan for the race, following the attacks and being in the break away. This was a hard task and I couldn’t seem to break the elastic and gain a substantial gap. This was the same story for all riders, with everyone riding all out, stringing onto each other by the skin of their teeth. In the second half of the race fatigue started to set in, still being very fast but some small gaps now opening up. A cycle of 10 riders rolling off the front, creating a gap, then being reeled back in would then proceed to repeat itself. However in the final hour this happened and good cohesion in the front split meant 12 riders would stay clear until the end. I found myself in the bunch trying to jump across the gap, feeling stronger as the race went on. Ultimately though not being able to make the difference. Knowing I don’t have a good sprint for the final I tried this over and over right until the end. The main problem was that I didn’t have the explosive snap/acceleration of the other riders, so to establish an initial gap was very hard for me. This was to be expected in this sort of race where it suits the more sprinter type of rider, nevertheless I enjoyed getting stuck in and thrive off the thrill of technical, dangerous crit-like races. Finishing in 40th place this is nothing to be jumping around about but I think I can be satisfied with the ride.


The novelty and enjoyment of the event quickly rubbed off as we were scurried to get changed to embark on the journey home. Perhaps the hidden and less luxurious part of all cycling races is the inevitable long drive home. Being crammed together for hours, whilst still being sweaty and tired from the race is far from ideal but it has to be done. So far during this time I have been on the more productive side; writing this blog, giving brief race reports to family and checking in with my Brother who is currently participating in the French stage race - Tour de Bretagne. I must admit I’m starting to crack now so no doubt the final hours will be filled with trying to stay awake/ aimlessly scrolling through social media.


It will in the early hours of tomorrow when we arrive back at the team house. This gives me the day tomorrow to freshen up, get showered and prepare to race again on Saturday in the Italian national Giro Della Franciacorta.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page